Day Two: Little changes mean everything

So today was just as easy as yesterday was – a statement which you may read a hint of surprise in. Whenever I have tried to diet the first few days are normally awful. Thoughts like “I could have eaten this yesterday” run through my mind, and recently they had won whenever I had dieted – meaning that they never stuck. This time though, it feels different. I’m doing little things to alter my diet, and I’m thinking short to mid term goals, not the ultimate target (which is essentailly halving my weight).

Little things like having soup with no croutons from the canteen at work for lunch (if I don’t take lunch in), cutting out lager and drinking soda water (or if I want a drink I have Diet Pepsi and Rum). There are lots of little things I’m slightly changing to hopefully make a big change – I suppose Monday will tell if it works!

I made Italian-Style Beef Stew for tea today, it was really delicious, and really easy to make.

The recipe was from GoodFood 101 Meals for Two. I doubled the ingrediens – one because Si picked up two steaks which I wanted to use for it, and two because I wanted some for dinner at work tomorrow. This is what I did:
1 onion, sliced (I kinda just chopped it up, but not finely)

2 garlic cloves – chopped

2 Thin fry steaks (sliced)

1 red pepper, sliced, deseeded etc

1 can of chopped tomatoes

A squirt of tomato puree

Sprig of fresh rosemary

I cooked the onion and garlic in a little bit of olive oil for around 5 minutes – until the onions were turning brown. Then simply chuck in the beef strips, pepper, tomatoes and rosemary sprigs. I then poured some boiling water into the pan, as I thought it would be slightly too dry without. I also added the tomato puree in at this point, just to thicken the dish a bit.

I left it to cook for around 20 mins – enough time for the water to reduce down and the dish to thicken slightly. We ate it with mashed potato on the side, and it was delicious (if I do say so myself).

The Stew on it’s own is around 210 calories, and is really filling. As far as I know, mashed potatoes are generally just over 100 calories, so it was a nice, tasty, healthy meal.

I did fail a little and I forgot to take a picture of it this time – I’ll try remember for the next nice meal I cook!

2 thoughts on “Day Two: Little changes mean everything

Leave a Reply

