Day Four: Jealous Stares

Why is it when you’re not allowing yourself to have something, everyone around you seems to have it?

When you work in an office people always seem to be snacking. There is a vending machine in the kitchen area in my area, where the water dispenser is. I’m drinking a lot of water at the moment (which is making me feel so good), but I can feel myself lustfully looking at the goodies contained within that metal prison whilst my water bottle is filling up.

Okay, that might be a slight over exaggeration, but you get my drift. My big challenge at the moment is not buying those golden looking Mini Cheddars (although at a massive 161 calories per 30g bag, it’s easier than I thought to not buy them!). I am really proud with myself for not snacking, especially at work – where everyone seems to be munching on crisps or chocolate, and I jealously stare at them enjoying their indulgence. I have a low fat cookbook which has some delicious looking desserts, so I may make one of those if I have a good week next week.

Today has been a lot better than yesterday food wise. I ate breakfast slightly later, which meant that my stomach wasn’t rumbling when it came round to dinner time! I had an apple again for breakfast, for lunch the canteen was seriously lacking and I ended up having a jacket potato with tuna. Tea was actually really nice. I had Broccoli Lemon Chicken, another GoodFood meals for two recipe. My meal looked nothing like the recipe picture, but it was delicious anyway (and I remembered to take a picture). For some reason when I cooked it, it was a lot wetter (for lack of a better word) than the image looked in the recipe book, but whilst eating I think it actually did the meal a favour. The chicken was nice and moist and the broccoli was just right. Also worth mentioning is that I roasted my own cashews – while this sounds easy, I still managed to catch them slightly. They’re still edible, just a little on the well done side – which is why they look rather dark in the picture!

 

Day Four meal

 

 

Broccoli Lemon Chicken

1 tbsp Groundnut oil (or sunflower oil)

2 Chicken breasts, sliced into strips

2 garlic cloves, sliced

Head of broccoli (recipe calls for Tenderstem broccoli but I used normal broccoli)

200ml chicken stock

1 tsp cornflour

1 tbsp clear honey

zest and juice of 1 lemon

Handful of roasted cashews

Noodles

 

Heat the oil in a wok, and chuck the chicken in until it has browned slightly. Then take the chicken out, and put the broccoli and garlic into the wok. Then stir fry for around 2 mins (less if tenderstem broccoli) and cover and cook for 3/4 mins until almost tender. Then mix the cornflour, honey and stock and pour into the pan and stir (until thickened). Now put the chicken back in with the broccoli, add the lemon zest, lemon juice and the cashews. Stir and leave to simmer for 2-4 mins. Serve either with Noodles or rice, and enjoy!!

One thought on “Day Four: Jealous Stares

Leave a Reply

