Days Six and Seven: Catching Up

First of all apologies for not putting a blog up yesterday. I had some friends over and didn’t get chance to type up the day’s exploits.

Yesterday I didn’t have chance to do my Davina (I was quite busy yesterday lol), so while hoovering/cleaning etc I danced about like an idiot to work up a sweat. It wasn’t as good as gym/davina, but it was better than nothing. Tea was delicious, it was called Pepper Chicken Potato Crush. There was even a superfood in there!! This one was slightly more complicated than the previous recipes, but it was by far my favourite meal of the week. The potatoes was absolutely divine!! This meal was about 562 calories. Today was more thrown together than the other meals we’ve had this week. I made Spaghetti and Meatballs, and while it wasn’t quite as healthy as previous meals, it wasn’t too bad. I think it will have been around 600 calories (I’ve not got an exact calory content because I made the recipe up a bit). Today I’ve been a little bit worse for wear, as my friends and I had a bit of a drink last night – so I’ve not really eaten too much so it’s not too bad – also, because I’ve not been feeling my best I’ve not been able to do any exercise! My weigh-in is tomorrow, so hopefully it’s a positive result!

Day Six

Pepper Chicken Potato Crush

3 garlic cloves

3 tbsp chopped fresh flatleaf parsley

3 tbsp olive oil

2 boneless skinless chicken breasts

100g goats cheese

3 strips of peppers

Fresh thyme sprigs

300g potatoes

85g pack of watercress
Preheat oven to 200 (180 if it’s a fan oven), roast the pepper until it starts to blister slightly – I roasted them with the skin facing down (i.e. the fleshy bit facing up) so that the skin didn’t blacken too much. Soften the garlic in a little simmering water for around 4 mins. Drain and chop them up. Mix them with the parsley and 1 tbsp oil. Make 3 deep diagonal slits in the chicken breats, and smother with around half of the garlic mix, making sure to get some in the slits. Tuck a slice of cheese, piece of pepper and some thyme into each slit. Season, and bake in an oiled shallow fish for around 30 mins – until the chicken is cooked through. While the chicken is cooking, boil the potatoes for around 15 mins. The recipe specifies new potatoes, but I used normal ones and they were still lovely. I quartered them and left the skin on. When the potatoes are cooked, drain and return to the pan, then coarsely crush them with a fork. It’s not so much mashing, as just breaking them up slightly. Make sure that the tough stems of the watercress are removed, and then add in the watercress and leave to wilt. Stir the remaining oil into the garlic mixture, season and stir into the potatoes. Serve with the chicken and any chicken juices.

Tonight’s meal was simpler, and perhaps not quite as healthy but it was still tasty. I made Spaghetti and Meatballs. I half made up the recipe, so I will try to remember what I did!

Day Seven

Spaghetti and Meatballs – This one won’t be specific as I didn’t really weigh anything out!

Meatballs

1lb of beef mince

Quarter of an onion (will need the rest of this for the sauce)

Breadcrumbs

1 tsp dried italian herbs

1 tbsp fresh parsley

1 egg

Flour for coating

Sauce

1 can chopped tomatoes

1 tbsp tomato puree

1 red pepper, chopped

remaining 3/4 of onion from the meatballs

1 tsp italian herbs

1 tsp oregano

Mix all the ingredients for the meatballs in a big bowl – minus the flour. I recommend using your hands to mix as it makes it so much easier. Compact them into meatballs, I did four big meatballs rather than a lot of smaller ones. Coat them in flour, and brown them in a large frying pan. While these are browning, put a little oil into a pan, and put in your pepper and remaining chopped onions, and leave to cook. Once the meatballs are browned, transfer to a deep dish and put into the oven. Pour any juices from the frying pan into the pan with the onion and peppers, and pour the tin of chopped tomatoes in with it. Put the rest of the ingredients in the pan, and leave to simmer slightly. After heated through fully, add the sauce to the deep dish in the oven with the meatballs. Leave to cook for around 25/30 mins, until cooked thoroughly. Serve with Spaghetti!

One thought on “Days Six and Seven: Catching Up

  1. Pingback: Days Twenty and Twenty-one « deadweightblog

Leave a Reply

