Days Twenty and Twenty-one: Calorie Counting!!

I cannot believe that tomorrow I will have been doing this diet for 3 weeks. For the amount of ups and downs I’ve had so far I feel like I’ve been doing it for a year!! Despite that, though, I think it is finally becoming second nature to eat more healthily. It has made chosing what I want to eat a lot more difficult, but that is simply because menus don’t state calories (restaurants/pubs/work canteen). I end up trying to work out how bad or good something could be for me, and how it would leave me calorie-wise for the rest of the day. I remember jokingly complaining about KFC and McDonalds putting the calories per meal on their menus, as I didn’t want to know (! I know, bad.. that’s why I’m in this situation!), but I wish more places would do it – or at least mark the lower calorie meals! Wetherspoons do that, as do Pizza Express. My problem, further from that, is that sometimes the “low calorie” stuff just doesn’t sound nice. Wetherspoons do a Superfood Salad. It is supposed to be insanely good for you, and it is low in calories – but it just doesn’t appeal! Even the name “Superfood Salad” makes me think it is going to be a few branches of vegetables that taste of nothing. I’m sure it is lovely, but it really just sounds horrible. One of these days I will build up the courage to order it, and I’ll let you know how that goes.

Tea yesterday was Pepper Chicken Potato Crush again (see recipe here). It was nice, although I wasn’t as keen on the goats cheese we had this time. Tonight was another BBC GoodFood recipe (their 101 meals for two has been such a good resource while I’ve been starting this), it was Gammon with Pineapple Salsa. I won’t put the recipe as it was really simple (1 red chilli pepper/100g pineapple chopped finely for the salsa, and then Gammon grilled, and once flipped just brushed with honey). We had it with wedges, which I tossed in a little olive oil and seasoned. Altogether it was under 500 calories.

Also today I FINALLY managed to get some Davina Fit done. With not feeling well recently I’ve not felt up to doing the exercise, but today I did it. I only did 20 mins, but I managed to do all of it. Aim for this coming week is to do at least 20 mins every night, to really drive the weightloss. I am a little dubious of whether I’ll have lost anything this week, not because I’ve been necessarily bad in regards to eating, but because I’ve been ill I’ve not done much walking about or exercise. Fingers crossed there will be at least 1lb gone, otherwise I will be quite annoyed with myself. Although the annoyance will only drive me to try harder, so maybe it wouldn’t be too bad (just can’t lie that not losing anything wouldn’t be upsetting). I will update you tomorrow evening!

Also, MASSIVE well done for my brother Chris and his girlfriend Holly who lost 5lbs this week after starting on the weightloss bandwagon. He is also blogging about it, find that here

3 thoughts on “Days Twenty and Twenty-one: Calorie Counting!!

  1. It takes the brain about 21 consecutive days of doing something to make it a habit. Soon a healthy lifestyle won’t be work at all! I haven’t eaten fast food in a couple years, and now I don’t crave it. Making your own food is better anyways because you can control everything that goes in and avoid perservatives and sweeteners πŸ™‚

  2. I didn’t realise that! I do feel myself not craving unhealthy food as much – although I do admit that when McDonalds or Dominos adverts are on I instantly want one, but then when the advert is gone the urge is gone. It’s more a mental craving than a physical one now I think πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

