Day Fifty-Seven: Ruddy Pubs…

I was at the pub after work with two friends today, we were staying there for a few drinks and as we’d all been at work all day we wanted to get some food. Now normally I can figure out what would be the best option to have diet-wise, but this pub was just incredibly awkward for me to figure anything out – I ended up having chips as it was the least offensive option! It was full of burgers/steaks/ribs and incredibly tempting things, but nothing really healthy. Admittedly there was a Caesar Salad, but I’m really not a fan of them so I didn’t want to order it. I just wish sometimes it was obligatory for a restaurant/pub to have at least a slight option for healthy food – or for them to list calories for everything just so you know what you’re getting yourself into!!! It would definitely be something I would do if I ran a pub!

I’ve got two days off now, tomorrow the plan is to go swimming (and NO wussing out… or it will be 3 Davina work outs in a row…) and perhaps gym or swimming on Wednesday as well. If the weather is nice, we might go for a walk as well. I did a Davina workout tonight as well after the pub – it was going to be two again but after the chips my stomach felt a little unsettled!! It was nice though, and I did feel good for it.

I had left over Sweet and Sour Pork for dinner today, and a breakfast bar for breakfast. Again, I’ve left it too late to type up the recipe, but I might come on and edit this post tomorrow so you lovely people can make it too – which I really would recommend!!

So here is the Recipe! It’s really simple, and is very much worth trying. It was also really nice for dinner the next day!!

 

Ingredients – this serves 4!

550g lean pork medallions

1 large onion, sliced

1 red and 1 yellow pepper, deseeded and cut into bit sized pieces

2 carrots, cut into matchsticks

(the recipe also notes 30g beansprouts and 200g sugarsnap peas, but we couldn’t get hold of them unfortunately)

Dried egg noodles (I used noodle nests)

200ml chicken stock

2 garlic cloves, crushed

1 level tbsp cornflour

1 tbsp tomato puree

2 tbsp Chinese rice vinegar (can be sold as Mirin)

4 tbsp dark soy sauce

200g fresh pinapple, cut into small chunks

Method

Place a wok or large frying pan sprayed with fry light (or with a little olive oil, just fry light is better for you) and stir-fry the pork for 5-6 minutes (lightly browned). Transfer the pork to a bowl, cover and keep warm.

Add the vegetables to the hot pan and stir-fry for around 4-5 minutes. Return the pork to the pan and stir-fry for 5-6 minutes, until the meat is cooked through. While this is cooking cook the egg noodles according to the instructions.

For the sauce, mix the stock, garlic, cornflour, tomato puree, vinegar and soy sauce. Stir into the pork and veg mixture and cook for 3-4 mins. Remove from the heat, then stir in the pineapple.

2 thoughts on “Day Fifty-Seven: Ruddy Pubs…

  1. If I want to be healthy at a pub, I order a chicken caesar and swap the dressing for balsamic! Or sometimes, I go crazy and go for the caesar dressing, but I have it on the side!

  2. I think I’ve just had a bad experience with caesar salad – I might have to give it another try next time I’ve not got much option! Thanks for the suggestions though, I think that makes a lot of sense 🙂

Leave a Reply

